Sports Car Modification

Local racing season featured wide range of champions at different tracks

The local outdoor racing season has drawn to a close, and that means it’s time to take a look at the champions from around the area. This week, a look at the drivers who claimed crowns in the full-sized, open-wheel race cars.

Of course, over the past couple of weeks, I’ve covered Dillsburg’s Anthony Macri’s second consecutive title in the Champion Racing Oil Central PA Sprint Car Series, so now it’s time to look at the individual tracks and some of the other sanctioning bodies.

At Williams Grove, Danny Dietrich scored his second 410 sprint title. Dietrich’s drove Gary Kauffman’s familiar sprinter to his first Grove crown since 2019. The second-generation driver edged Freddie Rahmer for the crown by just 10 points, or one position, in the final race of the season. Dietrich scored three wins at Williams Grove this year.

Danny Dietrich is shown after an April victory at Lincoln Speedway.

Rahmer claimed his third consecutive Lincoln title this season. On the way to that title, the third-generation driver won six races at Lincoln for new car owner Rich Eichelberger. Eichelberger, a former standout in the super sportsman division, stepped out of the driver’s seat this year to field 410 sprint cars for Rahmer.

Logan Wagner set a new standard for sprint car champions at Port Royal this season. The second-generation driver powered the Zemco sprinter to his fifth consecutive title at the Port. Wagner won five times this year at the Port on his way to the title. No driver had ever won five in a row in sprint car competition at Port Royal.

Related Articles

Back to top button